Esbjerg Ensemble premiere 'Earth'

At the end of this month I will have a premiere by the Esbjerg Ensemble, of a new piece called ‘Earth’. It’s been over 10 years since I last worked with the ensemble, and I am looking forward to doing so again.

The last time I worked with them was in 2008, when I wrote the piece ‘Air’ , which The Guardian journalist Paul Morley described as ‘deliciously sparse and exquisitely controlled, and as much as I can hear the scattered traces of Ligeti motion and Bainbridge meticulousness, it’s also something that I can image being played on my dream radio show alongside The Field, Xenakis, Thee Silver Mt Zion, Jon Hopkins, Morton Feldman, Murcof and Matmos.’
Listen to ‘Air’, here:
Last year, I was contacted by the ensemble and asked if I’d send them the score for ‘Air’. I told them that I’d rather compose a new piece.

They told me that they were planning a programme called ‘Bye Bye Britain’, of all British music. To be completely honest, though very happy to have the opportunity to write a new piece for them, I was somewhat ambivalent about this title/concept…

…In the end, I decided to write a piece that attempts to connect Brexit (alluded to rather bluntly) to the larger context of the Climate Emergency – I think, in this context, the concert could rather, and more sadly, be called ‘Bye Bye Earth’…
Bye Bye BritainJan 22, 7:30pm – 9:30pmSyddansk Musikkonservatorium – SDMK MapProgram:

Good old English ba-rock
Gustav Holst: Sextet
Nick Martin: “Earth” – world premiere

Edward Elgar: Romance
Peter Maxwell Davies: Sea Eagle
Benjamin Britten: Sinfonietta

The concert will be broadcast on the Danish Radio.
(If you’re interested in hearing it, and have trouble finding the right link – or don’t understand Danish – write me an email and I can send the link)